Committee for Tourism Development
under the Government of the Republic of Tajikistan


Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Region

GBAO was founded in January 1925 by the decision of the Central Executive Committee of the USSR. The Gorno-Badakhshan Autonomous Region borders on Kyrgyzstan in the north, China in the east and Afghanistan in the southwest. The territory of the region is 64,200 kilometers (or 44.5% of the territory of Tajikistan). The region consists of 7 districts and the center of the region is the Khorog city. The region is divided into: the city of Khorog and districts: Darvoz, Vanj, Rushon, Shugnon, Roshtkala, Ishkoshim and Murgob.


Khatlon region is located on the southern spurs of Hissor-Alay. There are four cities in the Khatlon region: Bokhtar, Kulob, Norak, Levakant and 21 districts: Baljuvon, Bokhtar, Vakhsh, Vose, Dangara, Jomi, Jilikul, Kubodiyon, Kulyob, Jaihun, Muminobad, Panj, Rumi, Temurmalik, Farkhor, Hamadoni, Nosiri Khusrav, Khovaling, Khuroson, Shakhritus, Shamsiddin Shokhin, Yovon. The climate of the Khatlon region is continental, the main rivers are Panj, Vakhsh, as well as the Selbur and Muminabod reservoirs.


Sugd is one of the administrative regions of the Republic of Tajikistan. It was formed on October 27, 1939 as the Leninabod region. On November 10, 2000, its name was changed to the Sugd region. The region is located in the north of Tajikistan, in the Tien Shan and Hisor mountain ranges, in the northern part of the Ferghana Valley. The Sugd region is divided into districts: Ayni, Asht, Bobojon Gafurov, Devashtich, Kukhistoni Mastchokh, Jabbor Rasulov, Zafarobod, Istaravshan district, Isfara district, Konibodom district, Mastchoh district, Panjakent district, Spitamen, Shahriston, cities of Khujand, Buston, Guliston, Istaravshan, Istiklol, Isfara, Konibodom, Panjakent.

The climate of Khujand city is continental, the main rivers are the Syrdaryo and Zarafshon. The largest and most famous lake is Iskanderkul. Other reservoirs are Kairokum, Farhod, Kattasoy and Daganasoy.


DUSHANBE CITY - has been the capital of the Republic of Tajikistan since 1925 and is considered one of the most comfortable and densely populated cities in the country. The largest enterprises and organizations, ministries and government agencies are located here. The administrative structures of the country are located in the city of Dushanbe, including the Office of the President of the Republic of Tajikistan, the Government of the country, the Parliament, the Ministry of Economy, the Ministry of Defense, the Ministry of Finance, the National Bank, embassies, universities, shopping centers, parks of culture and entertainment, etc.

In 2019, the population of Dushanbe increased from 851.3 thousand to 1.3 million people, due to guests coming from afar. The population of Dushanbe is made up of representatives of different nationalities, and the basis of it is Tajiks. National minorities also live here, such as Uzbeks, Russians, Kyrgyz, Turkmens, etc.

The city of Dushanbe is geographically located at 38° north latitude and 68° east longitude in the Hisor valley on both sides of the Dushanbe (Varzob) river, at an altitude of 750-800 meters above sea level. The total area of ​​the city of Dushanbe is 203.18 km².

The city is 14 km long and 15 km wide.

Dushanbe city is divided into four administrative districts: Sino district, Ismoili Somoni, Firdavsi and Shohmansur: Varzob district is located in the north of Dushanbe city, Rudaki district - in the south, west and east. The northern part of the city is higher and the southern part is lower. Hisor Mountains are located on the northern side of Dushanbe city, they are a source of fresh water from snow and glaciers and protect from strong winds.


Cities and districts of republican subordination, consisting of 13 subjects, are located in the center of Tajikistan, from the western part of the border of Uzbekistan to the north of the Pamirs, the Hisor Range and the north of Kyrgyzstan. The RRP includes: the cities of Vahdat, Tursunzoda, + Hisor, Rogun, the districts of Varzob, Lakhsh, Nurobod, Rasht, Rudaki, Sangvor, Tajikobod, Faizobod, Shahrinav.

Dushanbe - the capital of the Republic of Tajikistan is one of the largest cities in the country as a political, cultural and economic center. Dushanbe is located at an altitude of 800 m above sea level in the high mountain valley of Hisor.

Dushanbe has a continental climate, cold and dry winters. The Dushanbe River flows through the center of the city. In the center is the Javonon Lake. In the north of the city there is Varzob gorge as a recreation area. Varzob gorge and Romit gorge of Vahdat city are known as a zone of tourism and recreation.